The gift

March 21, 2013


Horror is in the perspective. My cat presented a gift to me. On the floor at my feet. A mouse. Still alive but obviously triumphed. I picked it up. And swallowed it.

No, I did not. I took it out to the back of the lot and placed it in our neighbour’s compost. It was a cold night but I felt that if the mouse could stop shaking with fear it had a good chance of survival.

My wife tells me that this is what cat’s do when they are trying to show their affection for you. Think of it from the mouse’s point of view. Or better. Imagine that you have raised a large cat, a cougar or a lion. And they have presented a gift to you. The neighbour’s child.

Dave3 copy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,170 other followers

