I’ve asked that same question

July 11, 2010


Decades ago I worked for the Ministry of Correctional Services. As a file clerk. My job was tedious. To kill time I used to read the psychological assessments of inmates. (I’m not sure why these files were so easily accessble but it was a different time.) You’d be surprised how many inmates started their criminal careers by being charged for loitering. They were homeless. One inmate in particular caught my imagination. He described himself as an artist. When asked by the interviewer where his art was,  he pointed to his head. In many ways that is where most artists’s greatest work is stored. Their intentions are always greater than than their realization.

Leave a Reply

