Please shut that door

January 30, 2011


I used to love cold weather. It energized me. Getting older has changed me. I feel every draft. One of my favourite poems is ‘The Creation of Sam McGee”. Especially the ending.

And there sat Sam, looking cold and calm
In the heart of the furnace roar.
He wore a smile you could see a mile,
And he said “Please shut that door!
It’s warm in here, but I greatly fear
You’ll let in the cold and storm.
Since I left Plumtree, down in Tenessee,
It’s the first time I’ve been warm.”



 

Leave a Reply

