Death, the wake-up call.

April 14, 2011


My mother called to say that she has gotten her funeral settled. She says that we won’t have to pay the funeral home until the funeral is over. (As if she would get up from the grave to write out a check.) Strange how this topic would have repulsed me when I was younger. As if thinking about it would make it come true. As if not thinking about it would make us all immortal. One thing I don’t want to hear about when I pass over – ‘let us celebrate David’s life’. Screw that. What I want is whaling. And gnashing of teeth. And everyone going home miserable and getting drunk. And then having a hangover the next day. And allowing me to slowly fade from their lives. Death is filled with too many cliches. No one knows what they’re talking about. And anyone who does, isn’t talking. For reasons that are obvious.

One Response to “Death, the wake-up call.”

  1. Sophie said

    Hey, you used to write wonderful, but the last few posts have been kinda boring… I miss your tremendous writings. Past few posts are just a bit out of track! come on!

Leave a Reply

