Phil Ochs and Bob Dylan

May 14, 2011


Reading an article about a book about protest singers in the NY Times Review… Phil Ochs and Bob Dylan. Two huge egos. We all knew what happened to Bob Dylan. He reinvented himself as Elvis, as Sinatra, as Shakespeare. He became show bizy. And in that process wrote some wonderful songs. What happened to Ochs? Most of us don’t know. I had a friend. Who toured with Ochs. That’s what I heard. His name was Terry. He played guitar. I kicked his teeth out when we were kids. We were playing soccer.  Terry died. I don’t know how? I heard that Ochs committed suicide. That was the story. Is it true? Google it. But it won’t tell you what happened to him.  I disliked Phil Ochs voice. As I did a number of other singers at that time including Gordon Lightfoot, Joni Mitchell, Joan Baez. I loved Dylan’s voice. And Marianne Faithful’s. And Donovan. Some voices seduce you. Some push you away.

3 Responses to “Phil Ochs and Bob Dylan”

  1. An interesting collection of images in this collage.

    A drunken state indeed.

    Voices are unique in the way they affect us emotionally.

    Billie Holiday instantly came to mind when you were referencing protest singers. Her voice was always distinct in that realm of pain, and her lyrics spoke of many injustices toward women and African Americans.

    Check out the classic song “Strange Fruit” although not written by her, no one sings it better.

    Walter

    • I love ‘Strange Fruit’. I read an article that stated that sometimes people would laugh when she sang the song. I find that bizarre and almost ‘sick’. But apparently some people mistook the song’s message as being sexual.

  2. You could absolutely see your expertise inside the perform you publish. The world hopes for far more passionate writers including you who aren’t frightened to mention how they think. All the time observe your heart.I?m undecided the place you are receiving your facts, but terrific subject. I needs to devote a while understanding significantly far more or comprehension much more. Thanks for excellent info I used to be searching for this facts for my mission..

Leave a Reply

