I was trying to make a point

June 3, 2011


My mother has been forgetting things. She’s 90 years old. She forgets her OHIP (Ontario Hospital Insurance Plan) number. I forget my own kids names. I call all three of them ‘Jack’. Two are girls. Everyone is forgetting things. The Illiad was part of an oral tradition. People used to memorize books and recite them. Around the fire. Or whatever was available. I’m always losing my glasses. And when I find them I can’t find the case they came in. I read (somewhere… I can’t remember where) that our memories define us as human beings. If we had an injury or illness that led to amnesia, we would lose ourselves, our character, our humanity. We are dependent upon other things (books, pictures, computers) to remember our lives. Is our humanity becoming the things around us… and not us…. I was trying to make a point. But I forgot what it was. I’ll get back to you.

One Response to “I was trying to make a point”

  1. Reagan said

    Just wanna remark on few general things, The website pattern is perfect, the articles is real fantastic. “All movements go too far.” by Bertrand Russell.

Leave a Reply

