The void…

June 17, 2011


I was in a discussion with friends about Canadian culture. I was trying to say that culture or at least the official culture (publishers, television, movies) were dictated by fashion. And in Canada that was a series of life experiences. In the last few decades that has been narrowed down to a few themes: the immigrant experience, the small town experience, the western/eastern experience. There may be a few others. In poetry, novels, movies, this is what the cultural bosses are looking for. At any rate I was in the middle of talking when my mind went blank. I could not remember what I was talking about. It was as if that thought had fallen off me. Like a limb. Like leprosy. It was unsettling. I think I’ve had this experience before. When I was young. And drunk. And in a panic to get the words out of my mouth. But now… Like a black hole.

5 Responses to “The void…”

  1. Kristin Brænne said

    Have a great weekend!

  2. The void we experience in thought and this photo is mesmerizing David. I really like the image.

  3. Thank you. Actually Dendermonde has no beach. But it does have an annual jazz festival.

  4. Audrey said

    Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  5. Sadie said

    Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for! “To see what is right, and not to do it, is want of courage or of principle.” by Lisa Alther.

Leave a Reply

