Rob Ford’s Parade

June 23, 2011


Sometimes I feel like the stereotypical old woman peeking out from behind her curtains at the doings on her street. I was in Starbucks. A table of 5 attractive women. Actually 4 attractive women in their late 40s or early 50s. One young woman in her 30s, I would guess, was not so attractive. I did not listen to their conversation. They were talking on my bad ear side. I read the newspaper. Rob Ford, our mayor, will not attend the Gay Pride Parade. I guess he’s not proud. A young man, in his early 30s, stepped into the cafe. He was well built, ruggedly handsome. Virile in that polite way Canadians have. He touched one of the women on the shoulder. She turned. They knew each other. They talked. The other women at the table glanced at their friend. Were they envious? The whole thing was out of some French movie. The couple chatted amiably. He could be her future lover. I turned my good ear toward them. (Like the captain of a submarine, turning his periscope toward oil tankers.) The fellow was gay. I should have known. He was good looking, in good shape, a friendly smile, well groomed. I wondered if he was going to the parade.

 

 

One Response to “Rob Ford’s Parade”

  1. My husband and i got very joyful when John could round up his preliminary research via the precious recommendations he received from your site. It is now and again perplexing just to happen to be making a gift of procedures which many others may have been selling. And we all recognize we have the website owner to give thanks to for this. The entire explanations you made, the easy blog navigation, the relationships your site help to create – it is most fantastic, and it’s really helping our son in addition to the family do think that subject is pleasurable, and that is quite serious. Thank you for the whole thing!

Leave a Reply

