Go Now

June 25, 2011


I listen to my children. So passionate about their music. I remember when. We used to classify people’s cool by their music. If you liked Tom Jones. You had to have dropped out of high school. And be at least 3 years older. If you liked country music. Definitely not cool. Unless it was Johnny Cash. Then you were really cool. If you liked Andy Williams. You were probably dead. Classical music of any kind. You were rich. Or European. No one liked opera. Except me. And I kept it to myself. If you liked musicals. You were gay. And it went on. And then I recall romancing a young woman. Jeanne. One evening. Drunk. Both of us. We were headed home from the pub. To my place. When I said, I couldn’t stand the Moody Blues. Their only good song was “Go Now” and they stole that from a black group in Detroit. (There are so many good versions.) Jeanne turned to me. There were tears in her eyes. Jeanne loved the Moody Blues. She couldn’t be with someone who didn’t love the Moody Blues. So I went home. Alone. I couldn’t believe it. I was pissed. How could anyone love the Moody Blues?

One Response to “Go Now”

  1. Riley said

    Wohh just what I was searching for, thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

