The abyss

June 26, 2011


I believe in evolution. No, that’s not true. I believe that Darwin answers many of our questions about biology. And the early history of our species. But the idea that everything is getting better rubs me the wrong way. (Not that Darwin ever claimed this.) The older I get and the more I think about things, the existence of God becomes more… problematic. (If God is outside time, how can he be said to exist?) A lot of arguments get caught up in questions of language, in the meanings of words. But deep in the pit of my stomach I feel like I’m moving closer to an abyss. More and more I find myself sympathetic to Kierkegaard. Standing next to the darkness. And reaching out.

3 Responses to “The abyss”

  1. This image is powerful and thought-provoking indeed. This is certainly one of my favorite from you collection of work. I too have some ambiguities concerning where we are from and where we are going.

  2. Hannah said

    You have remarked very interesting points! ps decent internet site.

  3. Bella said

    Thanks for helping out, superb info. “I have witnessed the softening of the hardest of hearts by a simple smile.” by Goldie Hawn.

Leave a Reply

