Twists of fate

July 2, 2011


I was reading an article that mentioned Detroit as the new birth of bohemianism in America. And I was trying to remember Yorkville in the summers of the 60s. Coffee houses. A young Neil Young and Gordon Lightfoot playing in the clubs. We used to make our way down the village and hang out. And then others would drive their cars downtown to cruise slowly down Yorkville Avenue to look at us. One evening I was pretty despondent. (I was 17) A girl came up to me and we started to chat. (I’ll call her Cathy) A lot of time passed. And then we parted. She gave me a kiss. I said, ‘you will never remember me’. Years later, I was in a different city, in a bar, with a different girl. (I call her Mildred). Mildred was telling me about this strange girl she had met in Vancouver the previous summer. They were at a party. The girl was coming on to her. The girl was telling her about this strange boy who had told her that she would never remember her. It was my Cathy. All these tightly knit twists of fate.

One Response to “Twists of fate”

  1. Isabel said

    Wonderful web site. Plenty of useful info here. I’m sending it to some pals ans additionally sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks for your sweat!

Leave a Reply

