Grande bold…. please

August 26, 2011


I was out for my morning walk. And I passed a sign. Bible Camp. Aug. 22-26. And still later another sign. Outside another church. ‘The idea of creation.’ It made me think that I should take stock of my own spiritual life. I have always seen myself as a deeply religious person. Raised a Roman Catholic, I have lost faith in religious institutions. For many reasons. The idea of God. If I was all powerful and all knowing, would I demand that my creations worship me? Sounds vainglorious. And if I knew everything would I want my creations to gather together in small rooms and… (fill in the blank). It makes God seem petty.

Is God conscious? Couldn’t he be like the law of gravity? Something that makes things act the way they do. But not a personality. Not a sentient being the way we understand it. Making him a complete mystery beyond our ability to understand seems…. once again petty. I think thats the argument people give you when they have no answer. And find your question… uncomfortable.

I’m winded. And sweating. And outside Starbucks. Grande bold… please.

One Response to “Grande bold…. please”

  1. Lucy said

    Hey, you used to write fantastic, but the last few posts have been kinda boring… I miss your tremendous writings. Past several posts are just a little out of track! come on!

Leave a Reply

