Mad dogs and Englishmen

August 27, 2011


It drives me mad. The myth. That an artist must be mad to create. That mental illness can be attached to every artist. Or most. That if you scratch a Renoir you will find bi-polar. And I can attest that I am not mad. And I am an artist. Just ask my shrink… Seriously. What bothers me is that young artists think that they must have some kind of psychological disability to write a poem. Or that they must be scarred from some family history in order to paint a barn. Of course one could say the same thing about smoking cigars. You must have some form of mental illness to smoke a cigar… Maybe that myth is true.

Mad Dogs And Englishmen

 

One Response to “Mad dogs and Englishmen”

  1. Stella said

    I like this weblog very much, Its a really nice office to read and get info. “Our chief want in life is somebody who shall make us do what we can.” by Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Leave a Reply

