Imprisonment

October 25, 2011


One of my favourite poems from that part of my life. It started as a rock song. Something with a lot of organ sounds in it like the Animal’s “The House of the Rising Sun” or Dylan’s “Ballad of a Thin Man.” I was very much in love with this girl. She was my first love. And it was all consuming. I couldn’t sleep. Eat. Hardly a minute passed that I didn’t think (think is the wrong word)… yearn for her. I’d walk through a department story and smell  her perfume and think she was there. I was quite mad. It was not pleasant. So I told her that I had cheated on her. It was a lie. I didn’t want space. I wanted to be able to breath. She bought my lie. And forgave me. This poem is about that imprisonment.

………………………

MARIANNE

I listened to the screams from the stereo corpse

I listened to the dreams from another room’s wooden voice

Heard the sounds of shadows

Scratch the window glass

Heard the morning coming

From another room’s wooden laugh

So I went down to the cellar to try and escape

But there weren’t any windows there

Only a picture with a painting of a gate.

She told me of her nightmares

Through the forest of lease

She whispered a story about the trade winds

Escaping to hades

She told me of her journey

Through the jungle of freeze

Told me how she wanted to take me down

To her fortress in the ground

So I went down to the cellar to try and escape

But there weren’t any windows there

Just a vase with a painting of her face.

Leave a Reply

