LOGIC OR LOVE / THE INTERNAL COMBUSTION ENGINE

November 1, 2011


LOGIC OR LOVE / THE INTERNAL COMBUSTION ENGINE – One of my favourite titles. This was a time around the re-election of Richard Nixon and the beginnings of the Watergate scandal. And I was tired of a lot of my generation. They seemed to be reaching out for anything. No questions asked. Some for religion. In sects or cults. Others into political movements. That seemed fiercely nihilistic. Others into marriage and the suburbs. The comfortable life. And I had no idea what to do with my life. Except write. But I was having little success there. And what did I want out of writing? A comfortable life in the suburbs. I had no overriding ego to tame. I was curious. And naive. I drank too much. Yearned for love. And settled for awkward moments of silence. First thing in the morning.

…………………

LOGIC OR LOVE / THE INTERNAL COMBUSTION ENGINE

 

here we are, knock on wood

practicing our habits

hijacking dust ‘ ‘take me to tilbury’

nestling around the wet nurse

smoke

strangling the goose

richard nixon was re-elected because he diligently and consistently saw to the dutiful discharge of his private functions.

 

pontius prophets playing plastic prayers

as yndala zam exhumes a hole in her lap

‘out damn’s spot, out’

for those of you whose profession it is

to browse over this world

tongue in cheek

jotting your thoughts on parchment

singing aquarius

waiting for jesus to come out of the wild blue yonder,

don’t look here.

the jokes in your hand.

‘but I want to be a productive member of society.’

and so they made her into a toaster.

One Response to “LOGIC OR LOVE / THE INTERNAL COMBUSTION ENGINE”

  1. http://socalvaloans.com Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved MUCH time 🙂

Leave a Reply

