For What Its Worth

November 5, 2011


There has been in the West and in particular the U.S.A. a social civil war. It is a generation gap inside a generation. The baby boomers and their off-spring. The anti-war movements, the civil rights movement, the seeds of the environmental movement began in the late 60s and early 70s. It was pushed by a younger generation. But not all that generation. I remember marching on to the bridge in Detroit, marching down Bay Street, university occupations etc. The majority of my generation, the boomers, wanted nothing to do with any of this. They had bought into their parents’ or at least the status quo view of life. That it was okay the way it was. You couldn’t change things anyway.  And the only important thing was the bottom line. But we were idealistic. Romantic. In the late 70s and 80s, everyone became hedonistic. Then cynical. And then the Soviet Union disintegrated. Under the pressure of new generations in the east. Now we see this same scenario in the Arab countries. “Something is happening here. What it is ain’t exactly clear.”

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=5RcG4RqpNwU

………………………

THE MURDER OF A CANDIDATE FOR A POST DOCTORATE DEGREE

Part 2

when she is not here i imagine her in perfect dreams, golden and erect.

 

Her fingers are always painted and polished. No one has ever taught them to worry.

 

Worked in a restaurant for five months washing dishes. Sometimes when conversation was slow in the dining room I would come out wearing a gypsy uniform, holding a violin, and recite Sigmund Freud. One day I got my notice. It read. DON’T FEEL PARANOID. YOU’RE JUST UNLUCKY.

 

Sometimes i can’t stand being inside my own skin. It crawls over me. The joints begin to squirm. Its as if I had already been buried and was beginning to decay while still breathing.

 

I’ve got to quit having these dreams re: death & clean underwear. Is this how the fallen angels felt the morning after. Did they have any regrets. What did they take for the hangover. Do they spend their time now lining their pockets with shooting stars. Why didn’t Christ die for them.

 

Why did I marry? Because it seemed like the thing to do. Go to college. Get a B.A. Get an M.A. Get my teeth capped. Buy life insurance. My epitaph will read – Another Victim of Social Gravity.

2 Responses to “For What Its Worth”

  1. Leo Rex said

    “Sometimes i can’t stand being inside my own skin. It crawls over me. The joints begin to squirm. Its as if I had already been buried and was beginning to decay while still breathing.” < I feel the exact same way some days.

    " My epitaph will read – Another Victim of Social Gravity." In that case I want my epitaph to read "The Man who Defied Gravity"
    This is a wonderful read. Hope to read more fantastic post from you.

  2. Great website! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am bookmarking your feeds also

Leave a Reply

