America had become polytheistic

November 11, 2011


Suspicion took over. It was a time when the best in people’s nature was suspected. We lived a kind of soap opera existence. People magazine and the adoration of the celebrity became the great escape. It was like the ancient Greeks who worshipped their gods. America had become polytheistic. They preferred the pantheon of celebrities. But the celebrities who were of interest to those in the shopping line were dull as dishwater.

Jimmy Carter, a genuinely good man, was elected President of the United States. He was like a freak of nature. America distrusted him. They preferred the man from General Electric. I liked Reagan. Had since I was a kid. He was always the soft spoken, good humoured, pleasant fellow. In a different set of circumstances he might have played Jimmy Carter in a movie. To this day, there are many in America who believe Reagan was a great man.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

………………………..

THE MURDER OF A CANDIDATE FOR A POST DOCTORATE DEGREE

Part 8

I don’t remember the exact moment when it occurred to me that she was having an affair. I had my suspicions. For some time. We had gone without sex for weeks. She told me that our lovemaking had become too brutal. She felt punchy. Where are you getting it then I wanted to say. I knew all about her appetite.

Sitting on a curb in the blue rain. Yellow dogs were praying for the moon. An avalanche of green sleepers had stolen the city’s light. Drunk. I passed out beneath  a billboard that read – THIS IS THE DEATH WALTZ BETWEEN HONESTY AND THE UTTERLY FANTASTIC.

I kept having this dream where she strangles me. Its as if the hands around my throat aren’t hers. They look like a necklace. In my hand is a dance card. It is filled with handwriting I can’t quite make out.

One day I handed her a list of names. She asked what it all meant. I told her to place a check mark beside the name of her lover. I couldn’t stand to hear his name from her lips. This is silly, she said. You know who I’ve been sleeping with. Do what you’re told, I shouted. She handed the list of 20 or so names back to me. Every name was checked off.

One Response to “America had become polytheistic”

  1. Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and excellent design and style.

Leave a Reply

