Even now I’m starting to laugh at myself

February 5, 2012


I’ve never been able to write well about love or sex. A writer should never say never. I haven’t. I have written love poetry. But the tug of sentimentality or melodrama was too strong. Reading one of Shakepeare’s love sonnets I keep asking myself. Was he serious? Did he mean all this stuff?

O Mistress Mine

O Mistress mine, where are you roaming?
O, stay and hear; your true love’s coming,
That can sing both high and low:
Trip no further, pretty sweeting;
Journeys end in lovers meeting,
Every wise man’s son doth know.
What is love? ‘Tis not hereafter;
Present mirth hath present laughter;
What’s to come is still unsure:
In delay there lies not plenty;
Then, come kiss me, sweet and twenty,
Youth’s a stuff will not endure.

He isn’t sincere. He just wants to get lucky. So I always felt like a fraud writing this kind of poetry. As for sex. I tried. The stories were good. But when it came down to writing the nitty gritty. It was boring. And yet there are young writers who do it very well.

Unzip me

February 5, 2012 by Kaori-Chan

Your arms wrapped around me
You unzip the back of my dress
Sliding it off my shoulders
Down past my breasts
I stand there
Longing for you

You pull my body closer
My breasts press against your chest
Your palm glides up my back to my neck
Your fingers interwine with my hair
I stand there
Longing for you.

This young woman is sincere. She writes a lot about sex. And most of it is pretty good.

I just can’t keep a straight face when I write about intimate details. Even now I’m starting to laugh at myself.

 


 

2 Responses to “Even now I’m starting to laugh at myself”

  1. Kaori-Chan said

    Hey David,
    Thank you so much for mentioning me in this post. I feel honoured you have wrote about me in your blog.
    Thank you

    Kaori xx

Leave a Reply

