Except that it was time

March 1, 2012


Things at a distance. Things up close. Odd how our view of the same thing can change depending upon how close we are. If you are close to events they seem more complicated. More intense. If you are at a distance it is easier to evaluate, easier to make generalizations. I met a woman who has just passed 50, newly divorced. Her friends say she needs to meet someone. She doesn’t know what she wants. Except of course to be happy. But also that her life should be interesting, fun. (I like her. She is beautiful, intelligent, funny, and sexy.) But I don’t know what kind of advice you can give someone. People don’t want what they have. They also don’t want to take chances. When I was young I would have fallen in love with a woman like this. I would have thought that I could save her life. The conversation made me feel like we were talking at a great distance. Except that it was at a great time.

One Response to “Except that it was time”

  1. Wow, I love this collage pink-hat lady, she’s very interesting, as it your blog, although I have yet to have a proper nose round. I will do though. You seem imaginative, thoughtful and creative – I like this combination a lot. Anita

Leave a Reply

