If There Are No Goodbyes

May 1, 2012


The Day After The Future

The light. Is leaving the room. Along with the corners. And you are left inside her confusion. And the confession. She was in love with your father.

Time. Goes by. You’re standing in a line. In a bank. And your wife is the teller. Who hands you a note. Give me all of your money.

Your grandchildren are born. Beautiful. And the doctor promises. That if you hang around long enough. There will be more. And as you remember the parking meter. Explodes.

If there is no God. I’ll take apple pie. If there is no after life. I’ll take that home run I hit when I was eleven. And was thrown out at home. If there are no goodbyes. I’ll just rot. And then I’ll wave to the flies.

Leave a Reply

