She was having an affair with a colleague

June 18, 2012


Irony

I was practicing my cello. Behind the furnace in the basement. On my way upstairs I found a body underneath the stairs. Tenants had been complaining about the smell for days. If the guy had lived in an upscale apartment by the lake, he probably wouldn’t have been found for weeks.

I know what’s waiting for me. I can hear him knocking at my door. There’s a man from the government. He’s got a letter for me. And then he tells me he has bad news. My son has died in the conflict. In Vietnam. Though he is dressed impeccably. He falls apart from the irony. My son is alive. Wasn’t born during the War. And this is not America.

I remember how sweet she was. Three kittens crawling over her lap. And every time I tried to tell her how much she meant to me, one of her pussys would interrupt. Finally she lost her temper. And told me to leave. She was having an affair with a colleague at work. Who was married. And she didn’t have time for my theatrics.

I guess I should be happy that I can still dream. I guess I should be happy that I can still sleep. With you sweating so profusely beside me. Its the middle of the night. I’m wide awake with a broken heart. And the reason is thirty years old.

2 Responses to “She was having an affair with a colleague”

  1. I like this very much, keep on…

Leave a Reply

