I don’t know where it came from

August 22, 2012


This is one of my favourite poems that I wrote in my early 20s. There’s a certain coldness to it that is appealing. It reminds me of some of the songs of Johnny Cash, though I wouldn’t say anything he sang directly influenced it. Really, I don’t know where it came from. Its in a book of poems. I don’t know where though.

…………………………………………

DOWN THE FOREST ROAD

down the forest road

limped

a man in black.

a lean man with thin eyes.

his face was not a kind one.

on his left hand

was a sailor’s kiss;

his right hand leaned on a cane

silver and polished.

he walked

over to the portch

where I was resting,

asked me

how far it was ’til dusk,

then he looked

at my silver watch

fastened

to my side

by a silver chain.

he looked to the sky

and behind him,

wiped his brow

and asked me if I could please end his thirst.

so I went

into the kitchen

over to the pump

where a shotgun leaned

nestling two shells in her womb,

picked her up

returned

and handed both to him.

Leave a Reply

