constant threat of violence

August 24, 2012


Marian was my first girlfriend. In college. I started late. And I was pretty ugly in high school. We were crazy about each other. We got nicknamed Sonny and Cher. And then she started to look at rings. And talk about houses. I panicked. I was not going to marry my first girlfriend. I wrote her a letter telling her I had been with another girl. It was a lie. (This story goes on much longer but that’s for another day.)

This poem has all the images of romantic poet. The darkness and constant threat of violence. I still like it but I have no idea what it is about.

 

 

 

 

…………………………………………

MARIAN

I listened to the screams from the stereo corpse

I listened to the dreams from another room’s wooden voice

Heard the sounds of shadows

Scratch the window glass

Heard the morning coming

From another room’s wooden laugh

So I went down to the cellar to try and escape

But there weren’t any windows there

Only a picture with a painting of a gate.

 

She told me of her nightmares

Through the forest of lease

She whispered a story about the trade winds

Escaping to hades

She told me of her journey

Through the jungle of freeze

Told me how she wanted to take me down

To her fortress in the ground

So I went down to the cellar to try and escape

But there weren’t any windows there

Just a vase with a painting of her face.

Leave a Reply

