Neil Armstrong dead at 82

August 25, 2012


Neil Armstrong was as mysterious as the moon. One of the most famous people of the 20th century and I don’t think I ever saw him interviewed. In our age of celebrity he remained mostly a name in a headline. I won’t lionize him. Seems to me he didn’t want it.

 

 

 

……………………………………………………

Neil Armstrong Dead at 82

Bogart was dieing of cancer. Sinatra was fucking Bacall. Ferlinghetti had run off. With Barry Goldwater’s daughter. My head is spinning. With acid. With the idea that we were swinging around in space. I was laughing and begging. Daddy. Don’t let me go. Neil Armstrong dead at 82.

Eisenhower was on the 5th hole. Told Nixon he would not be the next President. Every warship launched, every rocket fired, signifies in the final sense a theft from those who hunger and are not fed. Nixon laughed. And said to his President. I think you’d make an excellent mother.

My head sticking out. From a pup tent. The moon. Looked so clean. Like someone had scoured it with an SOS pad. And all those Apollo missions. To remind us all of the mess they’d left. There was a man on the moon. But that wasn’t a smile on his face.

I’m the man. At the bottom of the well. The moon is at the top. In my dreams I climb up the walls of the sky. And fall. Answers are questions. What he discovered when he stepped into the dust. Life is the rule. Neil Armstrong dead at 82.

2 Responses to “Neil Armstrong dead at 82”

  1. Great artwork to commemorate this great explorer.

Leave a Reply

