more than one way to skin a cat

September 21, 2012


A tour bus pulled into our parking lot this morning. (I work at a Catholic High School) The bus was having engine problems. The passengers were senior citizens from Ohio. I got to talking to them. They were a very curious lot. One of them asked what the tuition costs were for the school. I was a little confused. They told me that in Ohio you pay about $9000 a year. I told them that entrance here was free.

Their mouths dropped. I went on to explain that we had 2 school systems. Parallel systems. And both were free. We weren’t a private school. (Private schools are expensive everywhere.)

I’m always amazed that people from other countries are surprised when they discover that things are done differently in other places.And that difference did not make them inferior. Like the old adage, ‘there’s more than one way to skin a cat’. (What a horrible saying.)

2 Responses to “more than one way to skin a cat”

  1. kofegeek said

    ehm,,,,i was wondering how you make that cat illustration..by the way..the lady i your banner scary me 😀

  2. its a drawing with the insides of the cat cut out revealing a picture underneath.
    the lady on the banner is my aunt flo. she had an 8 inch waistline.

Leave a Reply

