Balloon of terror

December 14, 2012


6.

“David Halliday and Edward Kuris report to the principals office.”

I looked across the room at Ed. Shit! No one ever got called to the Principals Office. Not since Tony Higgins father ran off to Australia.

We marched down to the office.

“What did you do?” I cried. More like a screech inside of a whisper.

Ed shrugged his shoulders. He was still thinking.

“Nah, it couldn’t be that,” he said as we reached the office. The secretary told us to take a seat. Two wooden upright chairs. Like the electric chair but without the restraining straps.

“What do you mean, ‘couldn’t be that’?” I whispered.

We were called into the principal’s office and told to take a seat. This chairs were cushioned but with some thick industrial covering like linoleum. Sister Imelda looked at us.

“We’ve had some breakins in the school recently,” she said.

I was about to scream out… ‘I didn’t do it. He did.’ But held my peace.

And then she explained. She knew we lived in the area, played in the school yard at night and wondered if we’d seen any new kids or teenagers hanging around the building. The air went right out of my balloon of terror. We shook our heads. And were released.

Ed looked at me as we headed back to our class.

“I almost gave you up,” he said with a grin.

smallRear Entry

 

Leave a Reply

