The Pope has been fired

February 13, 2013


The Pope has been fired. And being blamed for the ultra-conservative bend in the Church. But this started a long time ago. I remember John XXIII. He galvanized many young Catholics and the Church making it seem that there was room in the Church to fight the modern evils, poverty, colonialism, runaway industrialism (both Communist and Capitalist). But ever since those heady days in the 60s the Church has retreated behind a curtain of silence.

My days as an idealistic Roman Catholic are over. The Church has become, for so many, brick and mortar. Its just another building on the boulevard.

smallExhibit W

3 Responses to “The Pope has been fired”

  1. “another building….” so true.

  2. What a coincidence! I am an ex-idealistic Methodist.

    As I’ve pondered my predicament I’ve realized that I’ve been the subject of a Moral “Force Multiplier.”

    My family, my neighbors, my high school, my community and even my country at times made it seem to me the urgency of being Methodist. All forces close and distant galvanized me to succumb to public pressure. The definition of success was inherent in this concept. These beliefs I internalized as my own even though they were not. I should note that this was NOT a conspiracy, it was just the way things were.

    As I grew older I realized that I had confused my GEOGRAPHY with my Values. I’m in the process now of trying to nurture sensible and world-view values that will serve me and other people at anytime and in anyplace. I’m re-internalizing new beliefs. Thanks.

  3. good luck on your journey…

Leave a Reply

