I pretended to be dead

July 4, 2013


Celebrities on Gerard Street EastI remember as a young lad of 3 or 4 seeing tanks on Gerard Street in Toronto. I’m not sure how this is possible but its stuck in my head. I also recall signs in windows which read NO IRISH. And then there was the back lane of our house on Galt Avenue. A car ran over me back there. It was winter and I pretended to be dead. (I wasn’t supposed to be back there.) I was rushed to the hospital, my mother holding me in her arms and praying. Years later I saw paintings of the lane on Galt Avenue but I was never able to come up with the artist’s name.

Leave a Reply

