Song on a Hot Day

Sweat on the windows. The dog is on the cement floor. His tongue rolled out like a red carpet. Flies in my ear. Telling me stories. Cold beer in my hand. Is this how we face the end of days.

Too hot for thought. Too hot for love. Too hot to think about you.

Blind man. Writing his life story. Inside his mind. The cat in the brown grass. The robins in the sprinkler. Sun inside sky. Yellow inside blue. Everything is innocent. What does innocent mean.

Too hot to dance. Too hot to move. Too hot to sing about you

I’ll cut out my heart. Sung by the Platters. Sometimes I feel like an alarm clock. I measure what never moves. I heard what you said. Jesus is coming back for a second shot. So where is he. And what’s his excuse this time.

Too hot for thought. Too hot for love. Too hot to think about you